Because vegan wines are made without fish or farm animal products
And because, no matter what your reason is, whether your commitment to animal welfare, allergies, or following your worship or spiritual practices, you will sleep better knowing no animal parts were in your glass!
Why would anyone want to consume sturgeon bladders, shrimp shells, or the connective tissue of farm animals? But millions of people regularly do when they drink a glass of wine.
You wouldn’t eat it, why drink it?
We appreciate winemakers for making the wines we enjoy so much. But unfortunately some of them use products that come from animals. This can be a problem for vegans and vegetarians, and many believe that this can also be a problem for people allergic to fish or animal products.
Many of the wines you find in stores or restaurants have been processed in some way to either to adjust their flavor or remove a cloudy appearance. Why?
Through the years, winemakers have learned that many people think there is something wrong with wines that are not completely clear or have a little sediment, and that many will send them back at restaurants. They have also learned how to adjust wine flavors to better please the palates of the public and mass market or appease the personal preferences of some famous wine critics to snag a high rating!
There are many different products or ways to remove sediment or change the flavors in a wine. Each operates a little differently, and each is better at removing some particular grape particle or chemical from your wine. The good news is that many have overlapping qualities and can be used interchangeably in several cases. This means that winemakers often have a choice between using animal products or another method.
Australia and New Zealand require warning labels on wines distributed within their own countries. The warnings are required because many people with allergies to animals are concerned that the residue from processing wine with animal parts may remain in the bottle of wine. But in this country, wine labels don’t always give you the information you need to figure out if it’s vegan. There are a few labels that display “vg” for vegan or “v” for vegetarian, but these are few.
And even so, who has the time to check on every bottle? We do.
At Vegan Sommelier, it's our business to know what's in your wine.